WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default 60 miles for 60 year old woman...Shenandoah Nation Park

Hi all....first time posting...but I've been lurking a bit. Quite a bit...

In honor of turning 60 last year, I thought it would be cool to get in shape by doing my own little "triathlon"....60 mile bike ride, 60 miles of kayaking, and then a 60 mile hike on the AT. The first two legs of this "tri" are behind me...
    The hike starts on Oct. 6. WOW.... and yes, I'm a NOOB....

I've been training hard...and gearing up wisely (thanks to you folks) My base weight is 17 pounds. I'll be accompanied by a dear friend who has sectioned hiked over half the AT. We'll be camping (not a fan of any place infested with mice).... Starting at Blackrock Gap and then NOBO to Thornton Gap, spending the last night on Mary's Rock.
    I've scrutinized every piece of gear...literally weighed stuff on a chef' scale...actually decided which bra, which watch,which shirt, which this or that to bring based on weight...done the whole debate thing in my head regarding weight versus comfort versus budget..... Have tried valiantly not to pack out of fear (e.g., do I REALLY need to bring 20 bandages, 60 ibuprofen, surgical gauze, 40 water proof matches etc). I've carefully estimated how much TP to bring,( took the cardboard tube out), pitched the sanitation trowel (its with the gardening stuff now, lol), took the brain off my backpack, decided I won't need a lensactic compass, my Kindle, etc etc. Seriously....I've learned SO much from this forum....

So here's my question...