WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default CDT/Glacier NP hiking

After driving through Glacier last year, I've been wanting to go back and actually hike and am looking into the feasibility of doing a 1-2 week hike around the park, making as much of a loop with the CDT and other trails as I can. I have zero experience hiking in grizzly country and have lots of questions and concerns.

One thing I keep seeing while doing research is warnings not to hike alone. The one person I know who expressed interest in going has decided against it, so it would most likely be just me if I went this year. I know groups are better, but is there a significantly increased risk hiking alone? I read where bells are not effective against surprising a bear and that is the most dangerous part.

It looks like August is the busiest time in Glacier, but how is the weather in July? Is everything accessible? What are the odds of any snow danger needing special gear? Any recommendations on when to go?

Any recommendations on routes or trails to take or to avoid? Was kinda thinking about doing 2 hikes, one on the north side of Going to the Sun road, and the other on the south side. See as much of the park as possible.

Thanks for any input or suggestions!

Given the Backcountry reservation crunch you won’t be alone.
    Lots of good YouTube videos to give you some ideas for loops. Look for Joey MyOwnFrontier & Glacier.
    Hike 734 blog has a ton of Glacier information and inspiration.
    There are shuttle busses operating between lodges on the east side of the park. A cross park bus operates between Apgar and St. Mary.
    July should be fine snow wise unless there is late heavy snow. The last half of July is good.
    Good luck and have fun.
    Wayne

This page will keep you entertained for awhile.
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?t=1097s&v=5O0jTpD5p3o
    Enjoy.