WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Supplemental savings for hike

I've been saving change for a few months now.
    I decided to count the quarters only.

$200.

I think it's been 4 maybe 6 months.

I hope you are putting aside some folding money, as well.
    "It's fun to have fun, but you have to know how." ---Dr. Seuss

That’s great! I’m a compulsive change collector also and love seeing those mason jars fill up. I will stop traffic to pick up a penny.

Journal Entries

When i was single about 25 yrs ago, and still mostly paying cash for everyday purchases, i had an old 28 qt igloo under desk in bedroom that i tossed change in everyday. Once every couple years id roll it, pick out old coins, and cash it in at bank. When that ice chest was maybe 30-40% full once, i figured i had 300 or so. Mostly pennies it looked. When it was counted i had $890 , $300 in just pennies.

The next time i took a change in a few yrs later, bank wouldnt take it. ***? i still have $55 in pennies in box in garage from that. I was able to spend rest. Then the machines at grocery stores appeared. I not giving them 10%. Now, i put what little change i get into coinholders in truck, and pay with it when go thru drivethrus. Freaks my kids out for some reason to actually spend change..they act like thats taboo. Like change isnt spendable, you must cash it in first for paper....

Told them my grandma lived thru the depression, didnt trust banks or paper. She saved dimes her whole life. Silver dimes until they quit making them . She bought a refigerator, washer, dryer in 1970s with dimes. When she died in 1980, there was money sewn into drapes and clothes. And $10,000 in silver dimes., face value.in boxes in closet
    Last edited by MuddyWaters; 04-26-2019 at 22:02.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by gracebowen View Post