WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Staying warm at night in cold weather

I have a 10 degree EE quilt and a silk liner and a Nemo insulated Tensor pad. And I'm cold!

Are there any options for a LIGHT pad thing that I could put under my pad? I have heard that there might be a thing pad thing I could put under my pad that Garage Grown Gear sells, but I can't figure out what it might be.

Thanks for any and all suggestions!

A generic 1/2" closed cell foam pad will help. The only down side is the bulk which can make it difficult to attach to some packs.

At what temp are you cold and what are you wearing for sleep clothes?
    Follow slogoen on Instagram.

Nemo advertise that mat as R3.5. That is a value that would be OK for me down to around 35f but not lower. At 10 F I would not use anything lower than R 5 and in fact given that an R5 mat is what I used at 20f I would probably use a foam mat as well. For me the Tensor PLUS a 1/2 mat would not work at around 10f no matter how warm the SB or quilt is.

Default Staying warm at night in cold weather

Ridgerest SoLite would do what you're asking and it's cheap. You could probably cut reflectix to size too.

Are you cold all over?
    You can walk in another person's shoes, but only with your feet

Journal Entries
    Images

Need more pad R value!
    Plaid is fast! Ticks suck, literally... It’s ok, bologna hoses off…
    Follow my hiking adventures: https://www.youtube.com/user/KrizAkoni
    Follow me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/alphagalhikes/

Did a few winter hikes recently and always carried two Thermarest. A single Thermarest and a CCF would be even better in some aspects, but are bulkier.
    I just hate it to feel cold from the bottom.