WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Trowel test

Default Trowel test

So I've accumulated a collection of backpacking trowels. I got to thinking comparing them might be fun, or at least a way to pass the time. But I like to conduct objective tests (I'm a chemist by trade and like objectivity).

I would like some ideas of what tests to perform. My first inclination is to get a 5 gallon bucket of sand and push the trowel into the sand using a luggage scale to measure force requred. This way it's not just 'it felt easier/harder'.

My other thought is attaching weights to the end of each trowel to see when it bends to test prying strength. But I'm not keen on breaking them. Maybe just estimate prying strength needed and test that amount of weight.

Other ideas?
    Thank you.
    Last edited by perrymk; 04-26-2020 at 07:57.

I would imagine that most of the time on the trail you would not use a trowel on sand, that is if making a cat hole.
    (I don't know why you would have one otherwise)
    So to get a good idea of how effective they are I suggest you dig on real soil and see how long it takes for each to make the same size hole.
    BTW, I use a sand stake (turned and used as a pick, not like a spade) because having that I also have a ...sand stake.

The bucket of sand is partly because I have a bucket of sand and partly to have a consistent matrix to repeat with each trowel. I have plenty of back yard but then one could argue the soil isn't consistent due to presence of roots, rocks, whatever.

Is it raining yet?
    Images