WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Toaks 650 looks small but is it usfull

I have the Oilcamp XTS and it is 1 liter in size but weights 7.6 oz. I can fit a fuel can, small windscreen and my Soto stove inside of it in the carry bag. I purchased the Toaks 650 cup with lid and it arrived today from Amazon. It is small compared to the Oilcamp XTS. How many of you hikers use the Toaks? I know it can hold 1.5 cups of liquid, but I guess to me it just seems too small. I am new to lowering my weigh of equipment. I guess what I am asking, is it worth giving up the Oilcamp and using the Toaks. Should I have gone with the 750?

Toaks Light Titanium is the good stuff.

The gauge of the titanium increases from 0.3 mm to 0.4 mm going from "Toaks Light Titanium" to "Toaks Titanium". The 650 is "Light", the 750 is not, which adds a significant amount of weight.

The 650 will also nest a 100g fuel canister and a PocketRocket 2 or PocketRocket Deluxe (both tested). Stove goes in first, and make sure it is lying on its flattest side.

Toss a small lighter in there with the stove if you wish. I don't bring a lighter if I'm packing the Deluxe and backpacking with a partner who is bringing a lighter; if I'm alone with the Deluxe I will bring a backup lighter, but I keep it with my repair kit so there is less risk of accidentally losing it, or of it getting wet and failing to work.

Canister goes on top of stove, inverted.

Upside-down lid goes on top. The lip of the lid will just fit the bottom lip of the canister.

Hold it all together with a Litesmith Cross Band or LiteAF Big Pot Sack.

Here's an example with the Snow Peak Trek 600 with the aftermarket Four Dog Stove lid. Nesting works the same way with the Toaks.
    Last edited by blackmagic; 01-02-2021 at 20:31.