WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Water Crossings with Permethrin

So, I know that permethrin is virtually harmless for human skin contact after it dries, but if it wears away after washing, it obviously breaks down and some is lost in the water. I am fairly new to backpacking, and haven't ever used permethrin before. Nervous about areas such as TN and PA, though. Does anyone know if it is harmful to the wildlife (those that live in or just drink the water) to cross water or dip a bandana/buff in the water with permethrin treated clothing? I know that commercial products have a low concentration, but if it kills ticks, it obviously has to have some potency. Thank you so much for your time!

It can survive multiple washings with detergents so the amount you are talking about is so miniscule any dissolved by your action is not harmful and is further diluted by the water. My guess is once it dries its does not go back into solution easy hence the ability to wash treated clothing repeatedly. I think most of the loss of potency is due to "mechanical" mechanisms like rubbing and flexing of fibers in your clothing.
    Ticks are affected because at the scale of a tick they are effectively walking thru a rock garden of permethrin. I would harm you too if you scaled the dose of a tick up by 10000X.

Quote Originally Posted by MoonSeeker View Post
    ....Nervous about areas such as TN and PA, though.
    First, it's awesome you're considering how your activities could affect the resident critters. Thoughtful.

I don't think you have to seriously worry about ticks in PA--or many states. There are areas in PA where the trail is narrow/may be overgrown, for example, through grassy agric. fields in the south roughly around Boiling Springs. But, I don't think they are tick heavy areas. In the rocky sections of PA, ticks are a very minor concern.