WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Celiac disease on trail

Hey yall I am once again asking you very wonderful humans for opinions and help. I have celiac disease and have since I was 15 and it has rarely stopped me from anything. I do not expect it to stop on the trail. However with that being said I wanted to see if you guys think it wise to send mail drops to post offices throughout the trail or not. I am a simple creature and I don't need to eat exquisite meals in town. I also don't mind eating mashed potatoes and other items that I know I can have on trail. I have seen some back and forth on this topic and just wanted to know if you guys think mail drops would be worth the hassle or not.

Thank you in advance yall.

I am reluctant to reply since I am not a medical professional, do not have this condition, and have not used mail drops. My two cents might be overcharging.

I suggest using a trail guide to determine which trail towns have grocery chains, Walmart, or Dollar General. Find out if Dollar General has what you need, since it is in various trail towns. If you can't get what you need where you need it, and like hostels, send a mail drop to a hostel to avoid limited hours/days at post offices. Use printed labels with the right zip code. There may be more than one county with a town/city of the same name. The USPS may be using automatic sorting, for which large clear lettering in good quality black ink on white paper should improve reliability. If you send to a post office, verify that they will be open and accept packages for general delivery.
    Hot water, hot ramen, burning alcohol, all in my lap

Ate mashed potatoes a lot, no problem finding them, even in little country groceries. And the olive oil to add calories. And Fritos—mix ‘em right in.