WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Are survival blankets worth carrying?

Hey guys;
    I have an unopened survival blanket that I have been carrying on all backpacking and day hikes for more than 20 years. Since it's unopened, I have always assumed that it's still usable, but I've been reading that these things can deteriorate even in their sealed packaging.
    Regardless of whether my blanket is still usable; are these things even worth carrying? I have been Googling recently, and it seems that the usefulness of these survival (space) blankets is questionable.
    So, should I purchase a bran-new one to carry with me on day hikes, keep carrying the old one, or just toss it and forget about it.
    I always carry extra gear when I'm on the trail - even for just a day hike.

Thanks for your input
    Ethan TX

Some days, it's not worth chewing through the restraints.

I have one in my day pack, not sure if it's worth a hoot, but you never know. I wouldn't go out and buy one, though, all the ones I have are freebies.

I wouldn't bother with one for an overnight backpack myself, I just make sure I will be comfortable based on a good review of the weather conditions. This includes paying attention to where the weather station data is coming from and whether I will be at higher altitudes.

Foils can delaminate over time. Twenty years is a long time for such a cheap product. If you can see inside the package, look for little specks of foil. This would indicate delamination. Or open it up and rub it between your fingers to see if it stays together.

It's not an insulation layer.
    "Sleepy alligator in the noonday sun
    Sleepin by the river just like he usually done
    Call for his whisky
    He can call for his tea
    Call all he wanta but he can't call me..."
    Robert Hunter & Ron McKernan