WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Care Cannister Stove of Trail

I'm relatively new to cannister stoves and have a question about storage on the trail.

After each use, I make a point of wiping excess liquid out of the pot before placing the fuel cannister inside of the pot. The Soto Windmaster has a piezo igniter and my concern is that excess moisture will get in the way of stove performance. Is this a valid concern? Is it ok to store everything inside of the pot?

Good practice to dry out the pot, but a bit of moisture won't be a problem as long as you can light the stove. And certainly have a backup ignition source in case the piezo igniter fails.

Almost every piezo stove I’ve ever had fails at some point, but could always light it nonetheless

Some days, it's not worth chewing through the restraints.

I dry out the pot, not so much for the possible effects on the piezo as to minimize rust from the canister. I place the canister in the pot upside down with the plastic cover on the valve so there's minimal metal-to-metal contact. My stove can then go in the concave base of the canister. I line the pot with a paper towel to eliminate rattles.

Quote Originally Posted by Deadeye View Post
    I dry out the pot, not so much for the possible effects on the piezo as to minimize rust from the canister. I place the canister in the pot upside down with the plastic cover on the valve so there's minimal metal-to-metal contact. My stove can then go in the concave base of the canister. I line the pot with a paper towel to eliminate rattles.
    I would do this as well, but I would use a old bandana I had cut in half to prevent rust and it would serve as a small camp rag as well. And would always carry a small bic lighter.

Quote Originally Posted by JNI64 View Post