WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

View Poll Results: Dogs Leashed, Doesn't Matter or Other

Voters
72. This poll is closed
  • Leashed at ALL times: I've spent many nights on trails and have logged many miles.

41 56.94%
  • Doesn't matter to me. I've spent many nights on trails and have logged many miles.

15 20.83%
  • Leashed at ALL times: I'm relatively new to hiking.

2 2.78%
  • Doesn't matter to me. I'm relatively new to hiking.

1 1.39%
  • Other: Give explanation along with trail experience.

13 18.06%
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Dog Poll: Leashed or Unleashed

Maybe this poll will be a little more representative with concern about dogs on the trail.

Near Ashby Gap, VA, the Sky Meadows State Park, through which the AT now goes, has a zero tolerance policy for dogs not on a leash and a $95 fine for the first offense. The rules are posted near the Visitors' Center, but not on the AT.

My hiking partner "got caught" when she let her dog off the leash for a brief moment, knowing she was violating the rules. The park ranger just happened to see this occur and was not at liberty to ignore this because of the complaints the park had received. She "got off", but I won't share why she did. If she had to pay the fine, she would more keenly recall the incident.
    Last edited by LostInSpace; 06-13-2006 at 15:06.
    "Space and time are not conditions in which we live; they are simply modes in which we think," Albert Einstein

Livin' life in the drive thru! hikerjohnd's Avatar
    Images