Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Wearing Jeans

Default Wearing Jeans

Hi,
    I've been hiking for 6 years and have always worn a slim leg jean, but I've never done any backpacking/hiking. I will be starting at Springer in May 08 and hike for 7-8 days on the AT. Will section hike like this until maybe/hopefully I reach Katahdin one day. Anyhow, I notice from pictures on this site that not many women are wearing jeans...what would be the most comfortable type of pants to wear. I like my jeans, but also want something that fits snuggly and moves well with the body. Thanks for your input!

Never hike in cotton.
    "If you don't know where you're going...any road will get you there."
    "He who's not busy living is busy dying"

Quote Originally Posted by bulldog49 View Post
    Never hike in cotton.
    ah bullcrap. i hike in cotton shirts all the time

Images

Quote Originally Posted by bulldog49 View Post
    Never hike in cotton.
    Yeah, I don't know how I survived all those years I hiked in jeans. A higher power must have been looking out for me.

jeans will never dry and they will rub and cause blisters.
    use nylon jogging shorts, a skirt or nylon long hiking pants but NEVER jeans.

geek

Donating Member/AT Class of 2003 - The WET year
    Images

Cotton is comfortable UNTIL it gets wet, either from rain or perspiration. If you want someting that is snug to the skin but won't cause friction consider lycra long leg shorts (like clyclers wear) or long leg tights.

'Slogger
    The more I learn ...the more I realize I don't know.

Images

Seriously, there should be some info about hiking pants on this website. I know one major problem with jeans is they take a long time to dry out and that could be a problem at the end of a very cool day.