WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Springer to Atkins, VA

Default Springer to Fontana

Given the current water situation, do you think the Springer to Fontana section is doable? I am fairly new to backpacking and have been planning this trip for almost a year now. I've been reading other threads and have contacted local hiking clubs maintaining the AT. I have tried to chart water availability based on hiker feedback but sketchy. I plan to start on 1 Oct and carry 4 liters of water. Springer to Neel's Gap looks OK...as does Neel's Gap to Dick's Creek Gap. North of Dick's Creek Gap it looks iffy. I have been monitoring this site for some time now and greaty appreciate all the advice I have absorbed. Any advice/information now would be greatly appreciated. For background...I'm male...57 years young...6'4/250....32 years US Navy.

pokey

Images

We hiked from Nantahala outdoor center to Stecoah Gap on 9/19 & 9/20. There was NO water at all.Unfortunately, we got off the trail because of this. We're going to finish that area at the end of Oct. I posted a thread when we got home hoping to help let people be aware. When we got to Sassafras gap shelter, the journal's said ,from a few before us, that it was pretty much a "dry deal" from Fontana. We checked all sources between NOC and Stecoah and nothing was to be gotten. When we got back to NOC on the 20th, we ran into a guy coming from the south direction and he said it was scarce, but not dry completely. Just some places were. Keep Ron Haven's # (800)401-0072-Saphire Inn- and Jeff and Nancy Houk at Hike Inn in Fontana(828)479-3677, handy. If you get in trouble any where in that area they will help you out. One question-when do you think you will be coming thru the wayah bald, NOC, Stecoah Gap area? Good Luck.

Springer to Atkins, VA