WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Too late to plan a 08 NOBO?

Hey guys and girls,

I'm new to whiteblaze, I was told about this site a few days ago from a friend at work after I told her about my thoughts of thru-hiking. It seems like there is a ton of preparation that goes into it and I'm still trying to learn everything that is needed and I'm not even sure if I'd be to get things together by the time spring rolls around. Right now, my biggest concern is finding a partner to do the whole trail with. None of my friends are really that into backpacking or they have commitments with finishing up college. I'm kind of at a turning point in my life (as are most first time thru-hikers from what I've read), I'm taking a year off of school and I feel like if I don't do a thru-hike this spring then it might not be able to happen.

I'm kind of just looking for some encouragement that I'm not cutting things too close and perhaps some direction in regards to;
    1. Finding a partner to do thru-hike with me
    2. Designing a training regime to put me in the best shape for the trail
    3. Making a gear list
    4. Figuring out proper nutrition and mail drops or whatever system could work best.
    5. Tying up the loose ends

I'll try to check in here for replies and encourage any help via PMs as well.

Thanks for your time and help,
    Chris

Item #5 may be the most difficult. The short answer to your question is, No. There are plenty of resources, in book form and on the web to help you plan. In regards to item #1, don't worry about it. If you need or want a partner, you'll find one on the trail. It hardly ever happens in advance (unless the partner happens to be a spouse or relative or very close friend.)

Start at the ATC website and go from there.