WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default I'm a newbie and need some help

I'm a college student year around and don't have much time to do a lot of hiking but got a chance over my christmas break. How does the idea of a 3 day 12/26 or 27 to 12/29 or 30 starting at Blood Mountain in Georgia sound at this time of year? Don't know much, but just need help?
    Thanks
    TG
    Last edited by trey3288; 11-12-2007 at 14:49.

Images

where will you be hiking? Depends on the location. Weather that time of yr can vary greatly. Could be 50 degrees and sunny, or a full on snow storm.
    Anything's within walking distance if you've got the time.
    GA-ME 03, LT 04/06, PCT 07'

Images

Since you are in Mobile I would reccomend going to the Alabama Pinhoti. I've hiked it in January and it was doable.
    SGT Rock
    http://hikinghq.net

My 2008 Trail Journal of the BMT/AT

BMT Thru-Hikers' Guide
    -----------------------------------------

NO SNIVELING

Images

I also belive the Blood Mountian Wilderness is a permanent no-fire zone. That might have an impact on going there in the winter. Because of the drought, there may be fire bans in a lot of places. Check before you go.

Try oak mountain, no fires, but stoves are still allowed and it's only like $4 a day to use the trail and the money goes right back to the trail.
    2,000 miles may be far, but how can you measure your abilities if you never push them?

Images

Quote Originally Posted by jessebrent View Post
    I also belive the Blood Mountian Wilderness is a permanent no-fire zone. That might have an impact on going there in the winter. Because of the drought, there may be fire bans in a lot of places. Check before you go.