WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: Cold feet

Default Cold feet

I ran into a little problem the other night. The temperature droped down to 32 or 33 degrees and my feet got really cold. The rest of me was fine. I was using a Moutainsmith 20 degree bag. This is my first time to camp in cold weather so what are some good tips for staying warm????

Default Were you wearing socks?

I always took an extra pair of socks to wear in bed only. Kept feet warm and bag cleaner. Also served as "emergency back ups"

Quote Originally Posted by Bearbait
    I ran into a little problem the other night. The temperature droped down to 32 or 33 degrees and my feet got really cold. The rest of me was fine. I was using a Moutainsmith 20 degree bag. This is my first time to camp in cold weather so what are some good tips for staying warm????
    You might have had to many clothes on, believe it or not your bag stays warmer and generates more heat with the less you wear. You should have been fine in a 20 degree bag in 32 degrees. I have slept in my 20 degree in weather all the way down to 6 below (once) and many times when it was around 10 degrees. My bag isn't as good of qualty as a Mountainsmith either.

Images

One of the most important pieces of equipment I take on cold weather trips is a pair of insulated booties for use arround the camp. Once at Icewater Springs when the temp was -5 F- I wore them in my sleeping bag. They really improve my comfort level in cold weather. The following are links to a couple of different products.
    http://www.campmor.com/webapp/commer...06&prmenbr=226

http://www.backcountrystore.com/store/SDS0076.html

Images

Quote Originally Posted by Former Easy
    You might have had to many clothes on, believe it or not your bag stays warmer and generates more heat with the less you wear. either.