WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Caring for Helium bag....

Well, I have never cared for anything besides a cheap synthetic bag so I have no experience caring for a nice down bag. I just picked up a Marmot Helium. As for storage, I'm just going to hang it in my closet. Now, one other question that I had is about compressing it. I also have a granit gear comp sack. Should I roll it up first and than put it in and stuff the rest or should I just randomly stuff the bag into there and than compress. I'm just worried about messing up the down. How do you guys do it when your on the trail? If you have any suggestions for me that would be awesome. Thanks alot guys.

Congrats on the bag! The Marmot Helium is a good bag. I bought one last year and I cannot say enough good things about the bag.

For storage, you should probably not hang the bag. Most manufacturers recommend storing the bag in a loft bag, which is basically a big cotton sack about the size of a large leaf bag. Hanging the bag might cause the down to settle to much and might put strain on the baffles. Just a quess on my part though.

You might not really need a compression sack for this bag. The stuff sack that comes with the bag already compresses the bag down a lot. I basically just stuff the bag into the sack.

Good luck!
    Some people take the straight and narrow. Others the road less traveled. I just cut through the woods.

Yea, I did alot of research on this bag and it seemed that it was a really solid choice.

Thanks for the suggestion on storage. It came with a large bag which at the time I had no clue what it was for... I guess I know now. Thats what I will be storing it in then.