WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
    Stop-loss Soldier

Default Where do you work?

I can't find a better place to put this post than "General," where do you guys (the hiking type crowd) work?

The reason I ask, I'm a two-time deployed soldier getting ready to return as a free man. Free in the sense that I'll be done with the National Guard and ready to return to the normalicy of civilian life. I'll be hiking the trail in the Spring of '09, but till then I'll need a job. Thanks to them I don't have a degree, and every freaking job app. for working in a forest/conservation group wants one.

What to do?

Hay sarge... you should qualify for unemployment after your discharge.. take the money and hike

One Small Section at a Time Frau's Avatar
    Images

I teach, coach, and have a mobile dog grooming business. Teachging is IDEAL for the outdoor life. Around here the only non-degree/forestry type jobs are occupied by local folks who drive the dump trucks, mow and do other repairs. The NFS even contracts out road grading now, to a guy who comes from WV.

Nessmuk has done many things including as a ropes and wilderness course instructor for juvenile convicts (he had no degree, just lots of experience)--until he serverely broke his ankle. He went to nursing school and now can work wherever and whenever he likes. (He takes lots of 4 days weekend throughout the summer.) His choice: he is back at the juvenile correctional facilty in the medical dept. We are heading out for Trail Days here in a few hours.

If you have education benefits take some classes while preparing for your hike. You'll be that much closer to you dream job!

Frau

healthcare is a great choice

Quote Originally Posted by JayMosier View Post
    Hay sarge... you should qualify for unemployment after your discharge.. take the money and hike