WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Default water filter, is one necessary?

hey everyone, Im a newb so I was wondering if a filter was necessary or if you would be ok with just a pre filter and a UV stick to kill bacteria? I love the looks of the new msr hyperflow.... its so hard to not let coolness be a factor haha

i've never used a filter or treatment. just drink freely

Drink freely if you know what is uphill and you are sure there are no roads, shelters, privies, houses, farms, beaver ponds, nuclear waste dumps, etc.

Images

I usually use Aqua Mira - light, no taste. Occasionally, just drink, no treatment.

Filters are nice, but HEAVY. Also must protect from cross-contamination.

UV is interesting, but need batteries, and not effective in murky water.

Other option is not treating at all, but I don't think people should be trying to convince others of that.

It is all just personal choice and comfort level.

I agree with everything that Lyle posted above.
    Enough is OK, too much is just right.

All of the responses so far should automatically appear every time the question is asked.

Default Not at all...

Quote Originally Posted by wolfsbane View Post
    hey everyone, Im a newb so I was wondering if a filter was necessary...
    Aqua Mira (field source of Chlorine Dioxide, better-tasting and more effective than Sodium Hypochlorite/Bleach) works fine. Easily 60% as many recent thruhikers use it as use filters. IMO it's especially more advantageous than filters in winter (no clog/fragility issues) or for ULers.

I'd prefilter your water, though. A bandanna will do. I used coffee filters.

UV sticks? For industrial facilities, where there's one-way flow through under controlled conditions, and QA/QC tests, sure. I don't trust them in a hiking situation.

Images