WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: cost to hike AT

Default cost to hike AT

was curious if anyone would have an idea of how much $$$$ it would take to thru hike the AT southbound. i was wondering how much money I should need to save before the start next spring ?

Quote Originally Posted by hoozr View Post
    was curious if anyone would have an idea of how much $$$$ it would take to thru hike the AT southbound. i was wondering how much money I should need to save before the start next spring ?
    i've been hearing a dollor a mile for so many years,you'll hear alot of opionions on cost. IMO for a standard thru would be 2.25 dollors a mile(i've said two dollors a mile for the last 6-8 years,but in the last year everythings gone way up)with most/to all your gear purchased already.(alot of hikers make small adjustments to thier gear in route,which cost money) this allows for restraunts and treats hostels and some motels. (4,896.45 my count for a good but not way over the top hike)i've known hikers that spent anywhere from 1,500.00 to 7,500.00 alot varies how many zerodays how much drinking,motels sightseeing in cities on the way(washington,n.y.boston) i have always spent at least 3,900.00 hoozr sounds like you caught the bug-HAVE A GREAT HIKE

anyway even if i was a little high on the amount? i think i'd rather plan a little higher and have some cash left after the hike. than plan low and run out. i've hiked both ways it sucks to run out or low on cash. if you can pack a little more away it wouldn't hurt...

I've calculated about $1800 for gear, and about $2 a mile. I'm not staying in hostels, and I won't be using restaurants. So I assume to have some left over in the end.

EDIT: I WILL NOT BE STAYING IN THE HOTELS BUT I WILL USE AND PAY FOR AMENITIES SUCH AS A SHOWER AND LAUNDRY