WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Question How do you pack a platypus or other hydration device...

I am thinking about using a platypus (with drinking hose) or similar product for my thru-hike. I've never used one before. How do you pack a platypus with drinking hose into your backpack? ...I'm worried about leaks. The top of the platypus is only held closed with a zip-lock and I don't have too much faith in the connection with the hose at the base of the platypus either. I feel like I'm missing something?

Is there another product out there that is better?

Images

I had the same worries, but I've had no problems w/ my platypus. Both sides hold up well, never a leak. Enjoy!!!

Quote Originally Posted by VaTechDC517
    I am thinking about using a platypus (with drinking hose) or similar product for my thru-hike. I've never used one before. How do you pack a platypus with drinking hose into your backpack?
    I use a platypus with drinking tube. It works very well. I have a mesh pocket on the outside of my pack on my right side. I fill the 2 L platy most of the way, if it will be a dry 10 miles, and then stuff the platy upside down in the mesh pocket. The tube slips through two loops on the edge of my right pack strap. Whenever I want a drink, I just reach over for the tube and squeeze the bite valve with my teeth.

The only leaks I have had were when I set the pack down on the bite valve. This is especially bad when puttin the pack in a vehicle.
    Walk Well,
    Risk

Author of "A Wildly Successful 200-Mile Hike"
    http://www.wayahpress.com

Personal hiking page: http://www.imrisk.com

Default platypus