WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Thru-Hike Physical Preparation

If all goes well I am planning to thru-hike next year. I have been dieting ,walking, and lifting weights for like 4 months now and the effort has paid off in over 10 pounds of lost weight. I was wondering if other's who are planning to thru-hike are also attempting to get in good shape for their hikes and if they are what type of workouts are they doing, and are their efforts paying off?

Teddy Bear in a hammock HikerRanky's Avatar
    Images

There are several articles on WB that will help with your thru-hike planning and prep.... This one here deals with physical preparation....

Randy

If you need to lose body fat check out the Zone Diet. If you incorporate its principals into your food plan for your hike it will help you avoid muscle loss.

DapperD - I am not a thru-hiker so I have no direct knowledge on the rigors of a thru.

But, IMO the strength training is very important for someone in our age group. Strengthening the muscles of the legs will help you prevent injury. Stronger muscles help protect the joints and allows you to absorb the punishment of an uneven tread.

Cardio will make your first month more pleasurable but is not as important as the strength training IMO. I am NOT saying that coming in as a couch potato is a good idea.
    Fear ridges that are depicted as flat lines on a profile map.

sammysmithdrnker

i am doing three mile runs daily, lunges, and squats.

Quote Originally Posted by sammysmithdrnker View Post