WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Hiking etiquette?

Hi! I'm new to hiking, as well as whiteblaze.net.

I actually just went on my first every hiking adventure. I did 30.7 miles of the AT from Neel's Gap down to Springer as well as the Approach Trail. Needless to say, this is by far the best hobby that I have ever picked up and feel that the money for equipment was well spent and worth it.

One thing I was wondering while hiking the trail concerns right of way.

When hiking, I noticed that a lot of people heading north (we were going south...obviously) would step to the edge of the trail and allow us to pass. I noticed this was usually when we were heading uphill.

What is the common rule about this? Do I allow uphillers to pass or what? I really enjoy hiking and plan on doing much more of it in the future, but want everyone to enjoy their hike, so I want to follow all rules...clearly stated and understood.

A little advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

Images

As far as I can tell, there's no consensus on hiking rights of way in the east. In California, I was instructed that the uphill hiker has the right of way. More than one person told me this. It seems quite backwards--the uphill hiker being the one who would more than likely appreciate stopping for a moment.

If a hiker is sharing a trail with equestrians, the horses have the right of way.
    If not NOW, then WHEN?

ME>GA 2006
    http://www.trailjournals.com/entry.cfm?trailname=3277

Instagram hiking photos: five.leafed.clover

If I'm plugging uphill, stopping to let a "downhiller" pass is a legitimate excuse for a break. Guess that is opposite of your experience.
    Hikers can be nice people.

AT 4000+, LT, FHT, ALT Blissful's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images