WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default 5x8 or 8x10 Tarp

First, let me start by saying that I am new to "tarping" I LOVE the idea of simplicity yet versatility. Since I am new to tarping I wonder if I could get some help making a decision. For a solo hiker is the 5x8 foot tarp better or an 8x10 footer? For those that have an 8x10 tarp (made of silnylon) how much does it weigh? If you have a 5x8 silnylon tarp, how much does it weigh?

Thanks,
    Cameron

Peakbagger Extraordinaire The Solemates's Avatar

i dont tarp. i sleep under the stars or in a tent. but i've tarped before. but in my opinion something between these two sizes would be best. 5x8 is too small on both dimensions. but im 6'4" and the thought of having just 10 inches on either side of me, head and foot, is not enough to keep rain off me for the 8' dimension. the 5' dimension is not enough to pitch it low enough to the ground and have adequate internal height. but the 8x10 is probably too much. my ideal tarp would probably be 7x8.

but given the two choices you pose, id go with the 8x10 even for solo hikes.
    The only thing better than mountains, is mountains where you haven't been.

amongnature.blogspot.com

Just Hikin' Along
    Images

An 8' x 10' weighs close to 19oz in silnylon. A 5' x 8' weighs about 9.5oz.
    I use a trapezoidal tarp 9' long x 7' wide (front) x 5' wide (rear) and that's about as small as I, personally, would condider going (an MLD sinNylon tarp in this size would weigh around 10oz). A 5' x 8' would be a real "stretch" for first time tarping.

My suggestion is the 8X10, and I generally use a tarp. The 8X10 I bought from Campmor is 13 ounces. I wouldn't use a 5x8, but might consider a square one either 8ft or 9ft whenever I need to replace the one I have.
    "Sleepy alligator in the noonday sun