WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Default ALternative to Crocs for Camp Shoes??

I am a newbie, going NOBO in March.

Just weighed my crocs on my digital postal scale. 6.4 ozs. EACH!

Is there an alternative to these and are camp shoes needed in your opinions?

Thanks Josh

Section Hiking Knucklehead Hooch's Avatar
    Images

Dollar store flip-flops.
    "If you play a Nicleback song backwards, you'll hear messages from the devil. Even worse, if you play it forward, you'll hear Nickleback." - Dave Grohl

Images

I have a pair of old Nike flip flops.

LT '79; AT '73-'14 in sections; Donating Member Kerosene's Avatar
    Images

Instead of flip-flops, get the slip-on sandal type to make it easier to wear with socks. The pair I picked up weighed 7 ounces in total. The downside is that you really couldn't walk any distance in them, whereas with Crocs you could hike in them in a pinch and the ones with the straps will stay on your feet when you're forced to ford a river. It's a PITA to fit the Crocs in your main bag, however.
    GA←↕→ME: 1973 to 2014

Default here's the problem with crocs

As I see it, Crocs aren't the panecea they are sometimes made out to be. The strap as often broken off for me and when that happens, they become no better than those strapless sandles.

Crocs are great for walking around camp. No way would I want to hike in them, even on easy terrain.

David

I wear road running shoes for backpacking. They are very comfortable and easy to put on and take off, so I've never found a need for camp shoes. Just something else to consider.
    Stumpknocker
    Appalachian Trail is 35.9% complete.

Images

No camp shoes. I really dont think you will need them. More trash to carry when they break or you lose one. Plus I dont think you will use them as much as you think I didnt.

Images