WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Trailnames?

Default Trailnames?

Will you be using a trailname?

If so is the name one you have from previous experience? One that is self-appointed? Or one that you hope to find or have find you along the way?

At the risk of ostracizing myself I'll say that I don't fully grasp trailnames...BUT on the other hand, in time maybe I'll come to understand and do have some inclination towards the adage, "When in Rome..."

At this point I'm thinking the name I've been using for the last 30 years or so will do.

Red face Trail names

Stuart-
    In response to your question about trail names. I am not sure if I can paraphrase this as eloquently as I once read it, but here goes: part of what the trail is about is leaving behind the material aspects of your 'real or other world' identity & having the opportunity to be whom ever you want to be. The trail is a leveling arena in which your profession, how much money you make or have, what kind of car you drive or other social status tags are irrelevant: everyone is walking from GA->ME (or vice versa) on their own two legs & carrying everything they need on their back (we'll leave the supported hike cotroversy out of this for now).

Also, the trail allows for anonymity to what ever degree one prefers, which relates back to what I said about leaving behind your other world identity. Trail names are sort of a symbol of that. You can project who ever you want & often your trail name gives a little snapshot of who that person is. Your trail name usually describes some aspect of you in a funny, ironic or profound way that your given name does not.