WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Search and Rescue the ultimate hobby!

I have been doing SAR for almost 6 years now. It has been a very rewarding "hobby" that takes up allot of my time but also gets me outside.

Any other SAR ground pounders on this site?

Images

I live in tuscarawas county ohio. There is actually a need for SAR here in ohio? How might I get involved?
    Keep close to Nature's heart... and break clear away, once in awhile, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean.-John Muir

Images

Quote Originally Posted by SARdaddy View Post
    I have been doing SAR for almost 6 years now. It has been a very rewarding "hobby" that takes up allot of my time but also gets me outside.

Any other SAR ground pounders on this site?
    Not a SAR guy, but many of my diving certs revolve around underwater search and rescue. Underwater grids with little or no visibility is my specialty. Finding that needle-in-a-haystack underwater is my cup of tea!

I am on the Local USAR and WSAR teams here outside of philadelphia. Love doing technical rescues and wilderness rescues. I am a WEMT and NFPA 1006 certified rescue tech. Good to see others out there doing it.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by World-Wide View Post
    Not a SAR guy, but many of my diving certs revolve around underwater search and rescue. Underwater grids with little or no visibility is my specialty. Finding that needle-in-a-haystack underwater is my cup of tea!
    Ugh! Twelve kicks on this heading, twenty on that heading. I don't miss that one tiny little bit. Did my training in the North Atlantic; zero vis and cold as heck!
    Tomorrow might just be too late and today is just beginning.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by Cannibal View Post