WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Choosing a pack

Default Choosing a pack

I'm looking to buy my first pack. It will be mostly used on 3-7 day hikes. I'm putting a little more emphasis on space/size right now until I have some more time/experience to trim down my packing list (I'm probably going to carry more early on and gradually figure out what can stay at home).

I'm looking at the following and would appreciate any comments or recommendations as to which would be the best purchase:

REI Flash 65
    REI Ridgeline 65
    Gregory Z65
    Osprey Atmos 65
    Osprey Aether 70
    Osprey Aether 85

First, before you buy any pack, take all your other gear to you local outfitter and practice loading up the various packs you are considering.

Having said that, Gregory and Osprey packs are both quality and popular packs. You will not be disappointed in either. House brand packs like the REI will certainly do the job, and be cheaper.

I know that the Flash 65 won the Backpacker Magazine 2009 Editor's Choice Award. You can youtube a video review from them on it and it seems pretty solid

Registered User lazy river road's Avatar

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=53872

I started the very same thread when I signed up for WB...read through it lots of good info...im still deciding and have it narrowed down to the

ULA Catalyst http://www.ula-equipment.com/
    Gregory Baltoro 70
    Osprey Argon 70
    Osprey Aether 70

These are the four im deciding on...and like you plan on buying a big bag at first untill i get acclamated and can hike lighter

I did not like the Osprey Atmos 65 bc heard it knocks you in the head while you hike

Welcom to WB and happy trails to you