WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Journal Entries
    Images

Default New To The Forum

Hello all,

My trail name is Scruffy. I decided to do a AT thru hike starting March 1,2010 from Springer Mtn.
    I do have some experience at 4 day hikes but that is about it.
    I am just starting the planning process and getting back in shape
    I have the 2009 data book and the 2009 hikers companion on the way from amazon to help with the planning.
    I have been doing a lot of reading here on the forum and learned alot. So thanks to who ever done all the different articles.
    I am looking forward to what yall (I am from the south) can teach me to make my first thru hike a success.
    Also I am a ham radio operator ( KG4ENB ) and I have hike for a few days with a HF rig. Does anyone have experience with taking a hf radio on a thru hike?

Welcome to White Blaze. Plenty of info here. Note the search function and have fun.
    "It's fun to have fun, but you have to know how." ---Dr. Seuss

Hi Scruffy. This is Spokes (KD4VUA). I think there was a small article in a recent ATC Journeys edition about a hiker who carried a small morse code tuna can rig. My HF rig has been in mothballs for years. Maybe I shoud fire it up?

Good luck in your planning!

Registered User Pacific Tortuga's Avatar
    Images

You should do fine. Bring the radio or not, when you get tired of carrying it, mail it home.

AT 4000+, LT, FHT, ALT Blissful's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images

Hi Scruffy. Get your gear and go take a hike! Adventure of Lifetime (to take Ed Garvey's phrase).

Hiking Blog
    AT NOBO and SOBO, LT, FHT, ALT
    Shenandoah NP Ridgerunner, Author, Speaker

Agree the trip of a lifetime, Plan, Enjoy

Wandering Vagabond
    Images