WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Default Tents vs. Hammocks

I'm shopping around for shelters for my 3-week solo section hike this summer from Springer to Hot Springs and have been leaning more and more towards a hammock. I was curious what the pros and cons of each are.

The tent I'm looking at is the Big Agnes Seedhouse SL1.
    The hammock I'm looking at is the warbonnet blackbird.

I like the idea of a hammock - especially for summer nights. I'm a teacher and will only really be hiking in the summer. But I like the flexibility that a tent would offer in being able to move around a little bit more and try to organize.

I know there are lots of hammock die-hards and am not looking for a flame war - just some more input and opinions before I make a decision.

Dude, get the blackbird, depending on your bodyweight, I'd reccomend the double layer 1.1 oz version. You can use an evazote pad in between the layers for warmth. I really don't understand your "get organized" remark. Organize what? My food bag is hung PCT style from a nearby tree. My nearly empty pack is hung from the hammock ridgeline, along with my cook kit and rain gear. The Warbonnet has a "shelf", actually a pocket that holds small items you may need during the night. Also, get a good tarp like an OES Macat or another caternary cut hammock tarp. The non-caternary cut tarps can flap like a drum in a stiff wind, enough to keep you awake.

Images

Have you slept in a hammock yet? I'm just saying, as much as I love them, they ain't for everyone.
    SGT Rock
    http://hikinghq.net

My 2008 Trail Journal of the BMT/AT

BMT Thru-Hikers' Guide
    -----------------------------------------

NO SNIVELING

AT 2012