WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Default A Question About Hiking Shelters

Hello, I am an Industrial Design student currently working on a new hiking shelter/information system for my senior thesis.

I'd like to ask this community how they feel about technology and hiking?

Aside from a GPS what other tech. do you bring?

How do you feel about bringing a social networking environment into the hiking world via "Smart Shelters"?

What would you recommend to improve traditional hiking shelters?

Or am I missing a point? Is the point to go back to nature and not have any tech. around you?

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thank You

Images

Quote Originally Posted by DanM View Post
    How do you feel about bringing a social networking environment into the hiking world via "Smart Shelters"?
    The point of the Appalachian Trail is to provide a means of connecting with the natural world. A.T. visitors are in some cases expected or encouraged to leave technological conveniences at home or at least to use them in a manner that doesn't impact upon other visitors.

You might modify your thesis to focus upon how communications might be improved with unintrusive personal devices or at facilities targeting hikers in towns.

Tell'em Wolf... LOL
    "...Though the road may wind, yea, your hearts grow weary, still shall ye follow them, even unto your salvation." -Blind Seer, O Brother, Where Art Thou?

Hello, I am an Industrial Design student currently working on a new hiking shelter/information system for my senior thesis.

I'd like to ask this community how they feel about technology and hiking?

Aside from a GPS what other tech. do you bring?

Or am I missing a point? Is the point to go back to nature and not have any tech. around you?

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thank You