WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Seam Sealing

Default Seam Sealing

Just got my new TT Moment (love it) but just wanted to hear from some of you that have seam-sealed. obviously I want to follow the suggestions that came with the tent, but I am just looking for tips, pointer, etc since I have never done it before and don't want to f it up.
    Anyone ever tried the seam sealer mix on the tub to stop your sleeping pad from sliding around like the directions suggest? Did you just spread a few lines or cover it or what?
    Thanks for any help

Garlic
    Images

I suggest trying the floor first before smearing the stuff on it. You may not have a problem sliding around. Of the four or five close friends I hike with who use a silnylon floor, only one has problems sliding around. I think it depends on how restless you are when you sleep. Why add a couple of ounces if not needed? The stuff also makes it more difficult to sweep out the tent.

Less is more when applying the goop. A thin coat is better than a thick coat. Good luck and enjoy the Moment, so to speak. It looks like a great tent.
    "Throw a loaf of bread and a pound of tea in an old sack and jump over the back fence." John Muir on expedition planning

Garlic
    Images

Oh yeah, if you do need stuff on the floor, I heard dots are better than lines, for the reason of making it easier to sweep it out.
    "Throw a loaf of bread and a pound of tea in an old sack and jump over the back fence." John Muir on expedition planning

I agree with garlic.

Don't paint the floor with seam sealer. It will attract dust and dirt. If your pad slides, paint a few lines on the bottom of your pad instead. Position these lines under the pressure points of your body; shoulders, hips, etc.