WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Ride to Baxter trailhead from Bangor

Hello all. Newbie here. I am seriously thinking of thru-hiking southbound starting in late July. Trying to work out some basics before I do more research. One biggie is whether anyone can suggest ways to get from the airport in Bangor to the trailhead in Baxter State Park. I would appreciate an info.

Thanks in advance.

Peter

AT 4000+, LT, FHT, ALT Blissful's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images

The hostel in Millinocket shuttles from Bangor. Or take the bus to Medway and get a shuttle from there. ALDHA companion gives you the info. Download it from the site.

Hiking Blog
    AT NOBO and SOBO, LT, FHT, ALT
    Shenandoah NP Ridgerunner, Author, Speaker

If you have the time and want to save some bucks, fly into Portland and take the bus to Medway. The flights are a lot less expensive into Portland and there are a lot more airlines flying intto Portland. Its the same bus line that travel through Bangor. The one trade off is that you will probably want to take a cab to the bustation from the airport in Portland as its long walk around.

The bus to Medway is MUCH cheaper than a shuttle. . . and you can call the AT Lodge in Millinocket to arrange a shuttle to get you from Medway to Baxter. . . . have a great hike. . .

Formerly Jaws2006
    Journal Entries

Default Shuttle from Bangor to BSP

The AT Lodge is currently charging $144 for a private shuttle from Bangor airport to BSP. It is around a three hour drive.

If you are flying into Bangor and want to take a Cyr bus to Medway, the bus stop (Concord Bus Lines) is right outside the airport property. You can walk it - somewhere around a mile away.

Although booked a while back, I got a pretty decent price on US Airways from Baltimore to Bangor. Don't know about Portland.

Images