WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Images

Smile Soutbound Thru-Hike in June/July 2011?

Hello there!
    I'm planning my first thru-hike for late June or early July in 2011 (if that isn't already clear, haha). I have limited hiking experience, but I'd like to go at a slightly faster-than-average pace, with lots of 20+ mile days. I'm going to hike for 7+ days in December along the Florida Trail, so I'll have a better grasp of my comfortable pace after that (it's a flat trail though, so I'll take into account how much of a difference the altitude changes of the Appalachian Trail will add).
    Some info. about me: I'm a pretty casual guy. I think I have an upbeat attitude in general. Obviously, I love nature. Most of all, I admire the complexity of life- the way things have organized themselves randomly to form these miraculous, self-perpetuating systems (I like to inject casual terms into otherwise high-falutin' sentences too).
    As for my interests and hobbies: Cross country, Music (Radiohead, The Strokes, Jack Johnson, others), chit-chat, browsing interesting topics on the web.
    I'm going to be eighteen when I plan to hike the trail. Throughout high school, I've felt a bit confined because of my workload, the stress, and the constant assesments. I want a break from this ridiculous competition! I think the trail is simultaneously a challenge, an adventure, a chance for insight and a form of relief from all the self-imposed responsibilities that I pile on for the sake of my resume'. The simplicity of just hiking forward, enjoying the sights, feeling the athletic rigor, reading and thinking is a perfect fit for me. Besides, it will be a bridge in my life, between high school and college. It's a chance for me to speculate on my direction and reminisce on the past before heading into independence.