WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default someone starting out their career + thru = ?

So, I dropped the AT bomb on my parents (told them I was going in March), and they are completely against it. Mind you, I'm 23 but we're not an American family...in my family and culture, you basically do what your parents say whether you're 13 or 23 or 53.

They have one main reason for being against it. I graduated college over a year ago and with an undergrad in aerospace engineering. They think that this will blow - or hurt, at least - my chances of starting my career.

I just started a sweet internship and I would be quitting it after 4 months, to hike for 6 months, hopefully coming back to grad school (2011-2013) in the fall. So when I look for jobs after getting my degree in 2013, the last few years would look like this: a year where I did nothing, 4 months when I had an internship, 6 months when I thru-hiked, and 2 years of grad school.

So, I know that every industry is different but I wanted opinions from the engineering folk - especially aerospace eng if possible - about how that would look. Assuming I do well in grad school and such, would you guys recommend doing the thru now or right after graduation?
    Out of my way...I'm a THRU hiker. :D

Peakbagger Extraordinaire The Solemates's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by bandit View Post
    So, I dropped the AT bomb on my parents (told them I was going in March), and they are completely against it. Mind you, I'm 23 but we're not an American family...in my family and culture, you basically do what your parents say whether you're 13 or 23 or 53.

They have one main reason for being against it. I graduated college over a year ago and with an undergrad in aerospace engineering. They think that this will blow - or hurt, at least - my chances of starting my career.