WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default college student in need of advice

I am a freshman in college and my goal is to thru hike the entire AT.

My biggest dilemna is when to do it.
    After college I will hopefully be working, so the only time I can envision myself having the time to hike it is during college sometime.

I was wondering was worked for everyone else. When did you find time to hike it?
    I'm thinking between undergrad and grad school.

The second dilemna is whether I should go SOBO or NOBO. I want to go NOBO because of the fellowship of other hikers and the experience. But that would require me to take 2 semesters off college. If I went SOBO I could manage to only take off one semester.

Is NOBO worth it?

Images

I'm in the same position as you. I'm thinking about joining the Peace Corps after college and then thru-hiking after that with the small surplus provided. That could make it difficult to land a job though. The only other option I've got is what you suggested- section hiking over the summer. Problem with this though is I'd really like the summers for making money. Anyway, we'll figure it out I'm sure. Where are you attending? I'm at Dickinson College in PA.
    "Mr. Franz I think careers are a 20th century invention and I don't want one."

depending on your major you could work hard and graduate a semester early. that'll free up the late winter to start a NOBO hike.

I believe that hiking Northbound is worth it...but i also enjoyed the crap out of college and wouldn't have wanted to miss that last semester (it was a blast).

You could also do two thousand mile hikes during your summer breaks. if you really want to hike with the NOBO's start at trail days heading North and stop when you have to go home. Then mop up the rest the following year.