WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Is this boot right for me? L.L. Bean Gore-Tex Cresta Hikers (Leather)?

Hey y'all,

Week-long lurker, first-time poster.

[Cliffs notes: what's your opinion of the boot in the title?]

[Long version]
    I'm new to the backpacking thing, only been doing it seriously now for about 6 months and it's time to invest in a pair of quality hiking boots to section-hike the AT. I have a pretty flexible budget, so I'm willing to plop down $250 if it's needed but I'd really like to keep it under $200 if possible.

I received a $100 LL Bean gift certificate for Christmas so I'm looking at some of their boots. Although I'm 25 and in good health, my ankles are weak due to countless sprains and rolls from basketball (most recent trouble 1 1/2 years ago when the doctor told me I had "maybe the worst sprain [he] has ever seen"). I'm also a pretty big dude, 5'11" 210 lb., very upper-body heavy (tons of weightlifting...and maybe some eating too ). Also, I am clumsy as hell, and when hiking with any kind of speed will trip and have to catch my balance at least once per mile.

With those factors in, my local outfitter strongly recommended I suck it up and get a full-grian leather boot to protect my ankles. At first I really didn't want to. I don't like having hot feet and full grain leather is expensive. So what I'd like to know is,

1) If you're familiar with it, what do you think of the boot?
    2) If you don't like it/think there's something better, what do you recommend?
    3) Is a full-grain boot necessary?

Thanks for all the help!