WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default The Mental Game.. Day by Day.

I've been preparing and thinking about my 2011 thru hike for several months [April 1st departure]. It's not that far away..! The mental game is more of a challenge than the physical one, for me at least..

How many previous thru hikers start at Springer or Katahdin with a mindset that they may not finish? I know thinking 'negatively' is usually bad, but I think it's good to acknowledge that particular fact.

Should thru hikers take their hike one day at a time.. only to discover some months later that they're standing on Springer or Katahdin?

AT 4000+, LT, FHT, ALT Blissful's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images

Yes, you take it one day at a time. Enjoy the journey, not the destination. But when you arrive at the destination, REALLY enjoy it. I'm having some champagne in Harper's Ferry this spring.

Hiking Blog
    AT NOBO and SOBO, LT, FHT, ALT
    Shenandoah NP Ridgerunner, Author, Speaker

Journal Entries
    Images

I read this in a business book once, and thought it applied to a whole lot of things, including a thru hike.

FWIW, here is a link.

http://www.ndoherty.com/stockdale-paradox/
    Last edited by rickb; 01-20-2011 at 23:13.

Though I'm no previous thru-hiker, I will definitely be taking it one day at a time. The way I see it, I'll be out there for the fun and adventure. Just enjoying nature for what it is. I think it is definitely okay to be at the starting point saying, "I might not make this." I'll be doing the same.

Images

Default Stockdale Paradox