WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default End of Feb hike prep help

we are doing a 3d/2n hike the last weekend in feb. i am trying to get my pack down to 30lbs including water and everything. how would you guys pack?? looking for a complete list down to amount of food. i think i am way overpacked but i cant quit thinking i would rather have it than not. i will try to post my list later this evening. my biggest decision is the amount of clothing to take and which s. bag. i have a 25degree and a 15degree and there is about a lb difference in weight, any help is appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by Mtn Scout View Post
    we are doing a 3d/2n hike the last weekend in feb. i am trying to get my pack down to 30lbs including water and everything. how would you guys pack?? looking for a complete list down to amount of food. i think i am way overpacked but i cant quit thinking i would rather have it than not. i will try to post my list later this evening. my biggest decision is the amount of clothing to take and which s. bag. i have a 25degree and a 15degree and there is about a lb difference in weight, any help is appreciated
    Depends where you're hiking and your hiking list. Biggest thing to do to reduce pack weight is to weigh everything and put it in a spread sheet. Gets real easy to drop weight when it is an actual number and you can see what leaving x and y behind does to the weight.

I did a shakedown hike at the beginning of Jan. it was 45/25 in terms of temps. I figure that's about as low as I'll face on the usual for the first month.
    No man should go through life without once experiencing healthy even bored solitude in the wilderness, finding himself depending solely on himself and thereby learning his true and hidden strength.

PCT, Sheltowee, Pinhoti, LT , BMT, AT, SHT, CDT, TRT 10-K's Avatar