WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default lost at road crossings

I'm new to the AT and this is a tough question to narrow down using the "search" on this site.

How common is it in the southern half of the trail to loose your way after a road crossing?

Is the other side of the road well marked with a white blaze?

Do you need a map to help you know if you need to travel left or right for a while?

I'm thinking about downloading maps. Traveling NOBO from Springer. thanks
    Those that danced were thought mad by those who could not hear the music. George Carlin

Quote Originally Posted by skooch View Post
    How common is it in the southern half of the trail to loose your way after a road crossing?
    Rare, but it could happen. If you don't have a directional blaze (a blaze offset from the other blaze that tells you to turn right or left) and your guidebooks does not mention a direction, just look both ways and it's usually self evident - look for a worn path or a sign or a blaze or an information board or a parking lot. You shouldn't walk for too long after a junction like this without seeing a blaze. If you don't eventually see evidence of the trail, then try the other direction. No big deal.

[/QUOTE]Is the other side of the road well marked with a white blaze? [/QUOTE] Not always WELL marked, but eventually it is marked.

[/QUOTE]Do you need a map to help you know if you need to travel left or right for a while? [/QUOTE] Now, you've opened a can of worms. Some hikers swear by maps...others don't use them. We thru-hiked in 2008 and did not use maps and did not have any issues. If we were to hike the trail again, we would still go without maps. But you need to do what you are comfortable with...HYOH.

Images