WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default High Radiation Readings

Hello Whiteblaze,

I didn't see a thread on this subject and I thought we have to start to seriously start thinking about this as a reality. Our health is at stake and should not be taken lightly.

Recently I have been monitoring the radiation levels from the Japanese Nuclear Plant and had to share this with the community. I am not a scientist but over the past few weeks it doesn't take a scientist to realize that the the cumulative fallout is starting to add up. One of the most dangerous particles is Cessium-137 and it has a half-life of 30 years...it isn't just going to go away in our lifetimes and it is still being emitted! There are many other particles falling that have much much much longer half-lives.

Today there was a video uploaded to You-tube from close to the top of Grandfather mountain that I feel all hikers must know about.
    http://www.youtube.com/user/dutchsinse#p/u/12/rMn4o2SjzE4
    btw, this not me on any of he videos...

Obviously there are a number of factors influencing what is showing up in these current readings on this first video and these are not professional nuclear engineers conducting these readings. Please watch all of the videos and draw your own conclusions.

The radiation being detected is no longer just something that can be dismissed despite what our media tells us is within acceptable ranges. Hikers are not inside all day! Because of the nature of hiking and especially long distance hiking, it is my belief that the hiking community is in fact going to be our canaries in the coal mine so to speak. This is due to the fact we hike in the rain and snow, drink the water that falls, and expose ourselves to extended periods of time outdoors, in high winds, and at altitude.

More detail of radiation forecast...