WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Gear question: buy it now or...

I'm a complete newbie to the AT and to hiking and live in Germany.

Since I watched a TV program about the AT a few month ago I have a dream... I want to thruhike! Today I finished the final examinations of my apprenticeship as a bookseller and decided to start planning. A will not be able to start for the next about five or six years because my children are six and ten years old and I would not stand leaving them with their dad for half a year.

I do not have any piece of gear yet and therefore I would like to know wether it is wise to start buying gear now and complete the gear over the next years whenever I have money left or to just save the money and buy the gear just before the departure to have the newest, lightest things.

First option is a lot more fun... And I'm pretty sure I will get a hammock as a birthday present (was dreaming very loud with husband around).

I hope my english isn't too bad - didn't practice since I left school.

Since your thru-hike is so far in advance, what I would do is purchase gear for hiking now in Germany. Then spend your holidays doing backpack trips in Germany. Let the future take care of itself.
    Some knew me as Piper, others as just Diane.
    I hiked the PCT: Mexico to Mt. Shasta, 2008. Santa Barbara to Canada, 2009.

I wouldn't suggest buying gear now for a trip thats so far ahead. If you want to buy gear now that you can use while you are in Germany, than thats another story. I would get out there and see how you like backpacking first (assuming you have never been). It is like a dream to thru-hike but it can also be a nightmare for ALOT of people who don't really get a good feel for what its like.