WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Journal Entries

Default Wide Light Warm-Weather Sleeping Bag

Does anyone know of a 2 pound bag that is at least 35 inches wide in the hips?

I like to sleep with one leg hiked up at a 90 degree angle. And because I am 6’1” tall, this means I need a bag that is 35-36 inches wide in the middle. Since I’m 185 pounds, it can be narrower at the foot and shoulders.

I found the North Face Mercurial bag (1 lb. 10 oz.), but as best I can tell (at its EU site) it is only 32 inches wide.

I have a 20 degree bag that is 36 inches wide (ALPS Mountaineering), but at 3 lbs 11 ounces, it is too much for early August on the AT in southern Vermont.

Does everyone else sleep with their legs together? I can’t be the only one who likes one leg straight and one leg bent. It seems sleeping bag manufacturers are missing this niche of backpackers.
    Thanks,
    Chip
    Freedom!
    We all deserve personal freedoms and financial freedoms.

Hike smarter, not harder.

Sounds like the perfect application for a quilt.
    Con men understand that their job is not to use facts to convince skeptics but to use words to help the gullible to believe what they want to believe - Thomas Sowell

I doubt your going to find anything that light which is that wide and long enough to accommodate you, material weight just doesn't allow it. I think skine is right in suggesting a quilt.

Images

Try the Montbell Super Stretch series of sleeping bags. They come in different temperature ranges.
    I have one and love it. I move around in my sleep a lot and this bag allows me to do that.

I have a 40* quilt that I've used comfortably down to 30*, and recently made a summer version from fleece bought at the fabric store. I'm hoping that will be good down to 60* or so.