WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

2012 NOBO AT Hiker In Planning Hairball's Avatar

Default Hammock and Sleeping Bag? N00b here.

I'm new at distance hiking and I was wondering if I can pair a 3 season bag with my new TrekLight double hammock. I don't want to pack and set up a tent every night. I could use the huts/shelters or hang my hammock. Would putting the bag in the hammock be warm enough for a mid March start from Springer? Would it be too warm in June? It seems like a good way to combine gear without carrying too much stuff. I really don't even know if it will work but wanted to ask the experienced crowd in here first. Any advice or comments welcome. Thanks!

~Hairball

Georgetown, South Carolina, United States
    Images

Your bag will probably be just fine. However, you will probably want to invest in an underquilt. At the very minimum you will need a pad in the sleeve of that double hammock. I assume that double means the same to the Treklight folks as double means to my Warbonnet hammock folks. Usually anything below 70 degrees and you will need something under your bag. At some point lower than that you're going to need the underquilt. don't worry, they are feather light. If you are going to use a shelter now and then, you will put your pad to good use again. You're on the right track - it will all work out. You just need to give it a test run a few times. Check out the sister forum - hammockforums.net
    Everyone's first question:
    "Wow - How tall are you?"
    Answer: "I'm 6'6""
    Ergo, my trail name: 'Six-Six'

Georgetown, South Carolina, United States
    Images

This might help too:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D9N3K...layer_embedded

Shug is one of those guys who I would call an 'expert'.
    Everyone's first question:
    "Wow - How tall are you?"
    Answer: "I'm 6'6""
    Ergo, my trail name: 'Six-Six'