WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Will guidebooks do?

Will a new updated data book and thru-hikers companion suffice or should I go with the whole map/guidebook set?

Images

I suppose it depends on how you want to hike and what you want to get out of those materials, no? I mean, if you really wanted to, I'm sure you could make it the whole way just by asking other hikers about things or looking at their materials.

Can the maps be bought along the way at stores in town?

Hey I see that you are a 23 year old thru planner, like me. I started playing poker just before the boom and played a lot online during college. We should keep in touch and share planning strategies for the coming months. Either way, good luck!

We also have one other thing in common, we both are clearly trying to save up our cash right now. Happy New Year!
    the dude abides

The internet is calling and I must go. buff_jeff's Avatar

Yes, any of the data books will suffice. I don't know why you'd go with the data book AND the Companion, though. Personally, just the Companion is enough. I've also heard good things about AWOL's "The AT Guide."

With that said, others here have accurately noted that "you don't need maps until you need them." You never know when you'll want or need bailout options, or when you accidentally end up on a side trail. It's also really nice to see what's around you. I'm kind of a map dork so I enjoyed having the maps, but there were a few, several-hundred mile sections I did with just the Companion.

Totally up to you. Maps are definitely expensive and the trail can be done with any of the guidebooks.