WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: Week-long packs

Registered User PecosBackpacker's Avatar
    Images

Default Week-long packs

Hi all
    I typically do 5 day to week-long trips. I am in the market for a new backpack. Sierra Trading Post is having some great offers. Can someone give me a suggestion for any of the packs on their site? Thanks in advance

What type of pack? Internal, External, or Frameless?

I'm not sure about the OP, but I'm also in the market for a pack. I'll be doing a 5-night hike too, and it's my first overnighter. I personally am small and not interested in carrying a lot (plus my partner and I will be sharing a lot like the tent and food and stove). Although, I probably won't be ultralight, since this is my first time. I'm thinking an internal in the area of 2500 ci.

I know from advice I've read on this board, it's really important to get all your "stuff" first, and then get the pack that is comfortable for you and is sufficient for your stuff.

Yellow Jacket
    Images

If you are a "traditional" backpacker you'll probably want 4000-4500ci (65-75 liters). However, if you have reduced your pack weight and volume even just a little bit, you can probably get by with much less.

If this is your first pack, I'd pick something in the 3400-4000ci (55-65L). If all of your stuff won't fit in the pack, lash it to the outside until you replace it with "better", "smaller", "lighter" gear. Or better yet, leave it at home.

Now, if you plan to carry, chairs, cook 3 course meals, 35mm camera plus 2 lens, etc. You may never get stuff into a 55L pack. But, if you bring just what you need, 55L is enough space for a 5-day trip in non-desert conditions. In fact, with a little work, you should be able to get a 5-day 3-season non-desert load into less than 3000ci (50L) without sacrificing anything.