WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Images

Default Tick Infestation-Heads Up!

Today, while hiking the AT in Connecticut, with my dog, from Undermountain Rd southbound to Giants Thumb (8 miles and 4 hrs) and we were attacked by Ticks. I am new to backpacking and hiking on trails (200 miles logged) but have spent all of life hunting and fishing and I never seen THIS. I have taken "20 plus" off of me which included 3 embedded ticks. However it was my dog (Jack) who was attacked like nothing I ever seen before. 3 hours later and 2 baths for Jack I have removed 50 embedded ticks and over 200 ticks from his coat. All 3 species Deer, Dog and Lone Star from nymph to full-grown, were accounted for. I am horrified to bring Jack with me again and was near tears picking these nasty "****ers" off my dog. I was wearing long pants, long sleeve Wicking Tee, long sleeve jacket, hat and used normal amounts of Deet. I have the CT DEP's latest suggestions but I am looking for more suggestion from more experienced hiker who hike with dogs.

robbie (no trail name yet)

Good grief. I live in northeast Alabama and we don't have that many ticks but my aunt recently contracted Lyme disease from a tick bite.
    We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anyone tell you any different!
    - Kurt Vonnegut

Journal Entries

Ticks are very heavy in north ga as well. I pull a couple off of me every day. I pulled 10-15 (mostly in the ear) off of the neighbors dog yesterday and 6 off this morning. Going to be a heavy year.

Images

Permithrin. Spray it on all your clothing. I think that's what tick collars have on them. With ticks that bad, I might try to get a permithrin-treated vest on the dog.