WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Guns - Are they needed for protection from bears in WV?

Complete noob to hiking and trails in the US of A having moved here with my VA born and bred wife. Neither of us are gun toting, and therefore have no experience of when you need a gun or not.

In the UK and Europe the most dangerous thing is traffic, and you can wilderness hike anywhere without fear of being eaten or mauled.

We will be in WV and plan some day hikes in Dolly Sods and other areas, and so the question is:

Should we carry a gun for protection against bears and other predators? I have read only a rifle is effective anyway, and then you'd be lucky to get off two rounds. It seems also in WV that a rifle would have to be cased and unloaded, which sort of defeats the object if a bear is bearing down on us (pun intended).

Any firearms would be bought and licensed in Virginia in respect of reciprocal licensing laws.

Thanks for any serious and constructive advice.

No.

Unless you are in Grizzly country (e.g., Alaska) there isn't much point carrying a gun for protection against bears. It would be incredibly hard to justify shooting a black bear in self defense in a national park as that situation is usually avoidable through other means. Most handguns light enough to carry would be ineffective without multiple well-placed shots anyway. If you feel the need for something to grab on to, get bear spray, but even that would be overkill for most situations on the East coast. You should be more considered about feral pigs than black bear, especially in the South, as they are far more likely to persist in a real attack. I personally would never consider drawing on a black bear except under extraordinarily strange and unusual circumstances.