WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Getting Started Hiking IAT

I have decided to hike the IAT. I have armed myself with the trail maps, companion guide and the new book on the geology along the trail (I'm a geologist). Im not in very good shape so I thought I would start somewhere nearby. I'm in NE Illinois and would head up US 12 to the area.
    Any suggestions of a segment that is dog friendly and easy to negotiate?
    ClickChik
    Dog training and caching along the trail in the Swamps of NE Illinois

Hiking or backpacking? Or are you saying you want to thru-hike it?

Section hiking only. I use a CPAP plus I really only can hike on the weekends. I have a rescue Australian Shepherd who is fine in the local Forest Preserves and Im working on training him to carry a pack.
    I know West Bend Parks do not allow dogs, but Washington County Parks do allow dogs. I'm wanting a nice easy section to ease us both into hiking the trail.

There is a section about hiking with dogs in the guidebook, but unless you want to buy a copy of the guidebook, I would advise checking with the Ice Age Trail Alliance or whoever owns the land. But I think dogs are allowed in most places. If you're saying your dog is a service dog though you should mention that as there may also be exemptions for those.