WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Journal Entries
    Images

Default Your Story: When and where you became interested in backpacking?

Please tell us your story. What was the time (and when) you fell in love and became interested in backpacking? Who was with you? Family, friends, were you alone?
    "Something hidden. Go and find it. Go, and look behind the Ranges. Something lost behind the Ranges. Lost and waiting for you . . . Go!" (Rudyard Kipling)
    From SunnyWalker, SOBO CDT hiker starting June 2014.
    Please visit: SunnyWalker.Net

I had read a book by Peter Jenkins "A Walk Across America" in HS, it was given to me by my father. It looked like something I thought I'd be good at, always looking for things to do that I'd be good at, even still. While I'm not that good at it, it is only walking....I'm also stuborn. I'm good at that.

Registered User Different Socks's Avatar
    Images

Fell in love with backpacking during a 60 mile, 2 day hike in Sequoia National park back in the summer of 1987. Got heavily interested in hiking when I was about 10 years old and would disappear into the woods every summer when my dad would take the family on vacation. Drove my parents crazy that they didn't know my whereabouts for hours.

I'm wracking my brain and just can't remember. It was a very long time ago. Reading My Side of the Mountain probably had someting to do with it.
    "It's fun to have fun, but you have to know how." ---Dr. Seuss

Quote Originally Posted by Feral Bill View Post
    I'm wracking my brain and just can't remember. It was a very long time ago. Reading My Side of the Mountain probably had someting to do with it.